Skip to main content


Welcome to the BHC news centre where you can catch up on the latest updates from across the group.


Wolves Twinsbet falter in Game 2, semi-finals series vs BC Rytas now tied 1-1

Wolves Twinsbet fell at the hands of BC Rytas in Game 2 of their Lithuanian Basketball League (Betsafe-LKL) semi-finals match-up, 75:113 (22:32, 22:29, 20:36, 11:16). The series is now tied at 1:1, with both teams racing to three wins. Game 3 will be on Monday (May 27) at the Twinsbet Arena.

Rytas had a hot start in the first quarter (8:2), but Arnas Beručka and Jeffery Taylor scored baskets to keep Wolves Twinsbet within striking distance at 10:14. BC Rytas responded afterwards to build a double-digit lead (27:17) behind Robert Cole’s three-pointer. Later, Gytis Masiulis sank his own three-point shot, ending the first quarter with Rytas ahead 32:22.

J. Taylor led the Wolves’ offense in the second quarter, with Regimantas Miniotas, Kristupas Žemaitis, and Artūrs Žagars ably contributing to chip away at the deficit to 32:34. Rytas seemed to have answers to any comeback attempt by Wolves Twinsbet and managed to lead 61:44 right before halftime. A small scuffle broke out between some players from both teams just as the second quarter ended.

Rytas started the third quarter with a scorching 15:3 burst – the troops of Giedrius Žibėnas built a commanding 76:47 advantage. Wolves’ head coach Nedas Pacevičius called a timeout to address the situation, but Rytas continued its onslaught, scoring another 20 points in just half a period. After three quarters, Rytas had complete control – 97:64.

The fourth quarter was merely a formality. The offense stalled, and Wolves Twinsbet went scoreless for five minutes in the final quarter, leading to their lopsided loss.

Wolves Twinsbet: Rasheed Sulaimons 16, Jeffery Taylor 14, Artūrs Žagars 9, Tre’Shawn Thurman and Regimantas Miniotas – 8 each, Vaidas Kariniauskas 7, Eigirdas Žukauskas 4, Vitalijus Kozys 3, Christian Mekowulu, Arnas Beručka and Kristupas Žemaitis 2 each.

BC Rytas: Gytis Radzevičius 16, Margiris Normantas 15, Martynas Echodas 14.

(Foto: Rokas Lukoševičius)